No Indian in ICC Men’s T20I Team of 2021

20 January 2022, 12:11 pm
Spread the love

No Indian has been named in the ICC T20I Team of 2021 and Babar Azam of Pakistan has been named as the captain of the side.

The Pakistan skipper was at his classy best in the shortest format in 2021, leaving his best at the T20 World Cup where he ended the tournament as the leading run-scorer. Overall, Babar played 29 matches and aggregated 939 runs at an average of 37.56 with one century and nine half-centuries.

His captaincy was also praised as he led his team to the semi-finals of the T20 World Cup in UAE and Oman. In the side, two Australian players have been included — Mitchell Marsh and Josh Hazlewood while the side has three Pakistan players — Babar, Mohammad Rizwan, and Shaheen Shah Afridi.

The Pakistan wicketkeeper-batter ruled the roost in 2021 when it came to the shortest format of the game. Aggregating a staggering 1326 runs in only 29 matches, Rizwan struck at an average of 73.66 and a strike-rate of 134.89.