Philippines extends travel ban on India until July 15

30 June 2021, 11:46 am
Spread the love

The Philippines has extended the travel ban for all inbound travellers from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal, Oman, and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) until July 15, presidential spokesperson Harry Roque said on Tuesday.
This is one of the proactive measures imposed to implement international border control because of the Covid-19 Delta variant, Roque said in a televised press conference.

The Philippines has detected the more transmissible Delta variants in the samples taken from 17 returning Filipinos, among whom a seafarer has died, the Department of Health of the Philippines said.

The Southeast Asian country initially imposed travel restrictions on India from April 29 amid the devastating second wave of the pandemic in the South Asian giant, reports Xinhua news agency.